We recently wrote about a U.S. travel ban suspending entry for travelers from certain African countries. The travel ban was intended to limit the spread of the Omicron variant. Because Omicron is now widely circulating in the U.S., the government has determined there is no longer a need for the travel restriction.  The travel ban will no longer be in effect as of December 31, 2021. However, the COVID-19 testing and vaccine requirements remain in effect.

The Department of State has also indicated that the consular sections in Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe will resume visa services to the extent possible. As usual, we will continue to monitor the ever-changing COVID-related rules and restrictions for our clients.